Drama = Dollars…

maryj.jpg

… at least it does for Ms. Mary J. Blige.

Now I’ve been said that the “Queen of Hip-Hop Soul” makes better music when she’s going through thangs. And obviously I’m not the only one that feels this way.

From MTV.COM

Mary J. Blige has a love-hate relationship with her fans, she reveals in the new issue of Vibe, out Tuesday. They don’t seem to like her when she’s happy — but she doesn’t want to be dark and depressed just to make them happy. “When I took the chance to show people I can be happy, I lost a million of my fans,” she told the magazine. “I was like, ‘I’m gonna have to lose y’all in order for us to live, because if I keep going down this dark hole, we’re all gonna die together. I’m gonna slit my wrists or take some pills, and it’s gonna be over.” That’s why Blige feels obliged, more than ever before, to write love songs that she dedicates to her husband. “That’s my buddy, my best friend, my business partner,” she said. “He’s got my back like nobody’s ever had my back. I feel like God used him to come and pull me together.”

As the age old question goes, should she give the fans what they want or does she continue to make the music that she wants to make an risk not living up to sales reputations and perhaps let down her original fans? I believe that as an artist you have to make what is in your heart. That goes for any occupation. Because when it’s all said and done, you are the one that has to look in the mirror and feel good about the work you’ve done. What do you think?

0 Responses to “Drama = Dollars…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

